Legislature(2003 - 2004)

2003-05-18 House Journal

Full Journal pdf

2003-05-18                     House Journal                      Page 1896
SJR 16                                                                                            
Representative Berkowitz brought up reconsideration of the vote on                                  
the following (page 1807):                                                                          
    SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 16                                                                  
    Encouraging the federal government to end the federal subsidy of                                
    ethanol, and requesting the Congress of the United States to                                    
    mandate that land currently used to grow corn for the production                                
    of ethanol be returned to its natural state.                                                    
Representative Coghill rose to a point of order stating that                                        
reconsideration was out of order because it was after midnight.                                     
Representative Berkowitz moved and asked unanimous consent that                                     
the House rescind previous action in adopting SJR 16.                                               
The question being:  "Shall the House rescind previous action in                                    
adopting SJR 16?"  The roll was taken with the following result:                                    
SJR 16--RECONSIDERATION                                                                             
Third Reading                                                                                       
Rescind Previous Action                                                                             
YEAS:  20   NAYS:  16   EXCUSED:  4   ABSENT:  0                                                  
Yeas:  Berkowitz, Cissna, Coghill, Crawford, Dahlstrom, Foster, Gara,                               
Gruenberg, Guttenberg, Harris, Hawker, Kerttula, Kookesh, Kott,                                     
Morgan, Ogg, Seaton, Stoltze, Whitaker, Wilson                                                      
Nays:  Anderson, Chenault, Fate, Gatto, Heinze, Holm, Kohring,                                      
Lynn, Masek, McGuire, Meyer, Rokeberg, Samuels, Weyhrauch,                                          
Williams, Wolf                                                                                      
Excused:  Croft, Joule, Kapsner, Moses                                                              
And so, the House failed to rescind its action.