Previous

Chapter 60
Licensing of Security Guards and Security Guard Agencies

Article

1. Security Guard Agencies. (13 AAC 60.010 - 13 AAC 60.045)

2. Security Guards. (13 AAC 60.050 - 13 AAC 60.085)

3. General Provisions. (13 AAC 60.090 - 13 AAC 60.900)

覧覧覧覧覧

Article 1
Security Guard Agencies

Section

10. Agency license qualifications.

20. Application for agency license.

30. Agency license.

40. Agency license renewal applications.

45. Armed security guard agency license.

13 AAC 60.010. Agency license qualifications

(a) In order to be eligible to receive a license as a security guard agency, each applicant or each partner of a partnership and the qualified agent employed by an agency must be

(1) a United States citizen or resident alien with work permit;

(2) repealed 12/21/2002;

(3) at least 18 years of age;

(4) neither addicted to nor dependent on alcohol, narcotics, or other drugs;

(5) not suffering from any psychopathic condition or mental illness impairing the powers of memory, reason, judgment or perception; and

(6) an individual without a conviction, within 10 years before the date of application, for any crime classified as a felony in this state or another jurisdiction at the time the crime was committed, unless a full pardon has been granted.

(b) All applicant agencies must possess a valid Alaska business license in addition to any other corporate or municipally required license or registration.

(c) Corporate officers and persons with more than 20 percent financial interest in the agency must not have been convicted of a felony within 10 years of application, unless a full pardon has been granted.

(d) Applicants must meet insurance or bond requirements specified in 13 AAC 60.120.

(e) Applicants under (a) of this section must meet the requirements specified in 13 AAC 60.110.

History: Eff. 5/29/77, Register 62; am 12/21/2002, Register 164

Authority: AS 18.65.450

13 AAC 60.020. Application for agency license

(a) Applications must be on a form provided by the department which will require furnishing the following information:

(1) agency name;

(2) Alaska business address;

(3) Alaska business license number;

(4) branch office addresses;

(5) names of branch office managers;

(6) former Alaska business addresses;

(7) corporate or parent company name and address;

(8) affiliated companies and addresses;

(9) proposed or actual geographical area of service;

(10) names and addresses of all company or corporate officers or partners;

(11) names and addresses of all persons owning more than 20 percent financial interest in agency;

(12) state of incorporation;

(13) name of registered agent;

(14) three business or credit references for the agency;

(15) name of the qualified agent as defined in 13 AAC 60.900; and

(16) qualified agent's title, residence and mailing address, home and business telephone numbers and business address if it is different from the agency address.

(b) The following items must also accompany the application:

(1) a copy of the agency bond or proof of insurance;

(2) a description of the agency guard training program;

(3) a non-refundable application fee of $200;

(4) a copy of the agency's valid business license issued under AS 43.70.

(c) The president and qualified agent of the company must sign and notarize the application.

(d) The qualified agent must meet the qualifications of and submit an application for security guard licensing.

History: Eff. 5/29/77, Register 62; am 12/21/2002, Register 164

Authority: AS 18.65.410

AS 18.65.420

AS 18.65.450

13 AAC 60.030. Agency license

(a) Upon approval of the application, the department will issue a license to the agency.

(b) The license issued to an agency must be displayed in a conspicuous place for public view in that agency's principal place of business. Duplicates must be displayed in all branch offices.

(c) Any change in the agency's name must be reported to the department at least 10 days before the effective date. Upon receipt of this notification, a new license will be issued showing the new name. The old license must be returned to the department.

(d) Any change in the business or mailing address must be reported to the department within 10 days after the change.

(e) A license is not transferable with the change of ownership of the agency.

(f) Any change in the ownership or qualified agent must be reported to the department and a new application submitted. The application must be submitted so that it will be received by the department not later than 10 days before the change. The application fee for change of ownership is $200. The application fee for a change of qualified agent is $25.

History: Eff. 5/29/77, Register 62; am 12/21/2002, Register 164

Authority: AS 18.65.410

AS 18.65.450

13 AAC 60.040. Agency license renewal applications

(a) An application for renewal of a security guard agency license must be made on a form provided by the department, and must include the following information:

(1) notice of any change in the information currently submitted to the department;

(2) an affirmation that each qualified agent, corporate officer, partner, or person with more than 20 percent financial interest in the agency has, during the period of licensure, remained in compliance with the requirements of 13 AAC 60.010(a) .

(b) A renewal application must be received by the department at least 30 days before expiration of the license to assure the processing and return of the renewed license before expiration.

(c) The following items must accompany the renewal application:

(1) a copy of the agency bond or proof of insurance;

(2) a non-refundable renewal application fee of $50;

(3) a copy of the agency's valid business license issued under AS 43.70.

History: Eff. 5/29/77, Register 62; am 12/21/2002, Register 164

Authority: AS 18.65.410

AS 18.65.420

AS 18.65.430

AS 18.65.450

13 AAC 60.045. Armed security guard agency license

In addition to meeting the requirements of 13 AAC 60.010 - 13 AAC 60.040 and 13 AAC 60.110, to be eligible for a license as an armed security guard agency,

(1) each applicant, owner, partner, and qualified agent must affirm that the individual has not been and is not now disqualified from possessing a firearm, including as a condition of probation or parole;

(2) the agency must provide a description of its training program; and

(3) the agency must provide a list of the agency's firearms instructors and a copy of each instructor's firearms certification as required under 13 AAC 60.110(f) .

Next