This page is no longer used please use
28th Legislature(2013-2014)

Bill Text 28th Legislature

00 Enrolled SB 24                                                                                                          
01 Relating to the Alaska Marine Transportation Advisory Board.                                                            
02                           _______________                                                                               
03    * Section 1. AS 19.65.120(a) is amended to read:                                                                   
04            (a)  The board consists of 12 [11] members appointed by the governor. Each                               
05       member must be a resident of the state. The board shall be composed of the following                              
06       members:                                                                                                          
07                 (1)  one member who has a significant level of experience in the private                                
08       sector or local government, specializing in financing or economic development or                                  
09       marketing, from each of the following districts:                                                                  
10                      (A)  northern southeast Alaska, representing Haines, Juneau,                                       
11            Gustavus, and Skagway;                                                                                   
12                      (B)  central southeast Alaska, representing Petersburg, Sitka,                                     
13            and Wrangell;                                                                                                
14                      (C)  southeast Alaska, representing the cities of Angoon,                                          
15            Hoonah, Kake, Pelican, and Tenakee Springs;                                                                  
01                      (D)  the Prince William Sound and Kenai Peninsula areas,                                           
02            representing the cities of Cordova, Valdez, and Whittier, the City and Borough                               
03            of Yakutat, and the communities of Chenega Bay and Tatitlek; [AND]                                           
04                      (E)  southwest Alaska, representing the cities of Akutan,                                          
05            Chignik, Cold Bay, False Pass, [HOMER,] King Cove, [KODIAK, PORT                                             
06            LIONS,] Sand Point, [SELDOVIA,] and Unalaska, including Dutch Harbor;                                        
07            and                                                                                                      
08                      (F)  southcentral Alaska, representing the cities of Old                                       
09            Harbor, Kodiak, Port Lions, Ouzinkie, Seldovia, and Homer;                                               
10                 (2)  one [RETIRED] marine captain or marine engineer with 20 or                                     
11       more years of experience who is not affiliated with the Alaska marine highway                                 
12       system;                                                                                                           
13                 (3)  one representative, who may be retired, of a recognized union that                                 
14       represents employees of the Alaska marine highway system;                                                         
15                 (4)  one business owner who has experience interacting with the Alaska                                  
16       marine highway system;                                                                                            
17                 (5)  one travel agent or tourism specialist familiar with various Alaska                                
18       marine highway reservation systems available to the public; and                                                   
19                 (6)  two members of the public at large.                                                                
New Text Underlined     [DELETED TEXT BRACKETED]