This page is no longer used please use
28th Legislature(2013-2014)

Bill Text 28th Legislature

00 Enrolled SR 4                                                                                                           
01 Welcoming the delegates of the Pacific NorthWest Economic Region from Alberta, the                                      
02 Northwest Territories, and Saskatchewan; and relating to collaboration with the governments                             
03 of the Yukon and the Northwest Territories and other representatives of the Pacific NorthWest                           
04 Economic Region.                                                                                                        
05                                        _______________                                                                  
06 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE:                                                                                         
07      WHEREAS the Pacific NorthWest Economic Region was formed in 1991 as a forum                                      
08 for collaborative public and private sector planning among the states of Alaska, Montana,                               
09 Washington, Oregon, and Idaho, the Canadian provinces and territories of the Yukon, the                                 
10 Northwest Territories, British Columbia, Alberta, and Saskatchewan, and the national capitals                           
11 of Washington, D.C., and Ottawa, Canada; and                                                                            
12      WHEREAS the Arctic Caucus of the Pacific NorthWest Economic Region was                                           
13 formed in November 2009 as an informal group of legislators, government officials, business                             
14 leaders, and nonprofit organization leaders committed to the responsible development of                                 
15 North America's Arctic region; and                                                                                      
16      WHEREAS the purpose of the Arctic Caucus is to provide a forum within the Pacific                                
01 NorthWest Economic Region for the Arctic jurisdictions of Alaska, the Yukon, and the                                    
02 Northwest Territories to share information, discuss issues of mutual concern, and identify                              
03 areas for collaboration, including working with other jurisdictions and providing Arctic-                               
04 related input to the working groups of the Pacific NorthWest Economic Region; and                                       
05      WHEREAS there is much to be gained by Alaska, the Yukon, and the Northwest                                       
06 Territories closely sharing strategies to solve common problems and working together to                                 
07 solve these problems; and                                                                                               
08      WHEREAS, this year, the Arctic Caucus will be providing input to the Pacific                                     
09 NorthWest Economic Region annual summit in Anchorage, Alaska, on July 14 - 19, 2013;                                    
10      BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate welcomes the visiting delegates of the Pacific                                    
11 NorthWest Economic Region to Alaska's state capital; and be it                                                          
12      FURTHER RESOLVED that the Senate invites the governments of the Pacific                                          
13 NorthWest Economic Region to continue our enduring alliance in pursuit of the common                                    
14 goals of our regions.                                                                                                   
15      COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Right Honourable Stephen Harper,                                  
16 Prime Minister of Canada; the Honorable Barack Obama, President of the United States; the                               
17 Honourable John Morris Duncan, Canadian Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern                                     
18 Development; the Honorable Ken Salazar, United States Secretary of the Interior; the                                    
19 Honourable Bob McLeod, Member of the Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories;                                 
20 the Honourable Denis Stevens, Consul General of the Consulate General of Canada in Seattle,                             
21 Washington; the Honorable Sean Parnell, Governor of Alaska; the Honorable Mead                                          
22 Treadwell, Lieutenant Governor of Alaska; and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the                                      
23 Honorable Mark Begich, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative,                                 
24 members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.                                                                           
New Text Underlined     [DELETED TEXT BRACKETED]